Lordy, lordy look who’s 40!

Well, actually no one yet.  But it’s coming.  DH turns 40 in May.  Yep, the big 4-0.  He wants a few parties.  One for family, one for friends.  And since his family is so weird I think that’s a good idea.  We’ve both decided it’s probably a good move not to subject anyone we care about to his family more than we have to (believe me I see the irony here).  Plus I’m hoping the MIL will step up to the plate and host the family party but even if she doesn’t I don’t mind doing it, you only turn 40 once.  Besides, it’s not easy living with me so I’m inclined to try and make it up to DH with his birthday celebrations.

But what do you buy the man who wants for nothing?  Really.  He.  Wants.  Nothing.  Unbeknownst to him I’ve started making him a sweater.  He thinks I’ve been asking about colours and styles and yarn textures randomly.  HA HA!  It’s pretty rare that I do anything randomly.  So there is that.  But the sweater is basic and black and boring and I can’t guarantee I’ll finish it before his birthday. 

So what to do?  I am open to buying a gift but I’d really like to make him something memorable for this milestone birthday.  I sew too so that doubles my crafting options.  I ran across this fabric  today while I was slacking  taking a break at work.  DH thinks The Simpson’s Spider Pig is the funniest thing EVER so I’m trying to figure out how I could incorporate that into a present.  And no, sadly he does not need a quilt, a shirt, a bag or any type of fabric gift I can think of off the top of my head so I’m not sure how I’d use it.  But he’d kill himself laughing if I did I can tell you that.

So please, send suggestions.  Especially if you know DH.  Or even if you don’t.  I’m stumped and I only have two or so months to pull this together.

Leave a Reply

