Pride goeth before a fall

I am not one to toot my own horn all that  much.  In fact compliments of any sort bother me.  But I do take a lot of pride in my cooking.  I think I’m pretty good at it.  Pretty damn good in fact.  Of course it helps that I married a man who is a human garburator.  But still, I’m a good cook.

Anyway, I never thought I was much of a baker.  In fact, I firmly believed that you could be either a good cook or a good baker but not both…that would be tempting the culinary Gods.   But then Steph and her 101 things in 1001 days got me thinking about baking.  I dreamed up a list of my own and I now bake a cake every month.  Sometimes twice a month if sufficiently motivated.  And they’ve been turning out very well.  I couldn’t be more surprised.   So of course I got a little cocky.  And prideful.  And we all know what happens when cocky and prideful come to the party.  Yep it was smackdown time.

I have been reading a lot of cooking blogs and got it into my head that I needed to make cake balls for my family’s Christmas dinner this past Saturday.  Ummm, let’s just say that my smooth and festive red and green cake balls weren’t really so smooth and festive.  In reality they looked like, well, let’s just say I’m calling them grinch pops because that’s kind of what they resemble…grinch pelts on a stick.  Yummy sounding I know.  My nieces (who are not quite as discriminating since they are 2 and 5) ate the red ones and I’m trying to foist off the remaining green ones to my co-workers because I’m mean that way.

And the 10 dozen strawberry creme cookies I’m baking for the cookie swap on Wednesday?  They really would have been better if I followed the recipe.  Baking as it turns out, really doesn’t work if you “wing it” like in cooking.  You can’t actually fix too much egg in a cookie recipe.  Sigh.

Needless to say the Keebler Elves can all breathe sighs of relief since I won’t be giving up my day job anytime soon.  In the meantime though, I’m waiting for the Tums to kick in.  Turns out I make crap cookies but really, really, really good cookie dough.

Leave a Reply

