Like a phoenix rising from the flames

It’s no secret that I don’t like my FIL.  Picture Archie Bunker, but with a Greek accent and that’s the FIL.  Although Archie Bunker was slightly more enlightened.  But before you start to feel bad for the FIL, he doesn’t like me much either.  In fact, last Christmas he told the DH (in front of the WHOLE family) that he made a mistake marrying me.  Good times.

So why am I making the FIL a sweater for Christmas you ask?  That’s a lot of time to spend making someone I don’t like something.  Well, I like my uncle-in-law a lot.  And I have some really nice wool to  make him a sweater.  But I can’t make a sweater for him (the UIL) and not the FIL.  We open presents in front of each other on Christmas Day and while I really don’t like the FIL I’m not going to throw it out there for all to see….I’m trying to take the high road here.

So the plan is to make the UIL a sweater out of nice wool and make the FIL a crew neck sweater made out of the grossest, scratchiest, itchiest acrylic I have in my stash.  The FIL will be obligated to wear it and it will be uncomfortable.  Yes, I am evil and yes, I am going to hell.  I’ll probably see many of you there.

I started Itchy last year  (there’s a post somewhere in the archives but I’m lazy and  can’t be arsed to link it) but gave up on it.  I found it again last month and had to frog most of it, but it’s back baby!  Itchy and Scratchy has risen like a phoenix from the flames and will live to torment the FIL.  Which is why blog posts have been few and far between.  Give me a week or so and I’ll post a picture of Itchy in all it’s glory.  Bwah ha ha ha ha.  Ahem.  Excuse me now, I’ve got a sweater to knit.

 

4 Responses to Like a phoenix rising from the flames

  1. Glenna C says:

    Awesome times. Evil and induced-guilt all in one fell swoop!

  2. Susan says:

    I can hardly wait to see the pictures! I’ve been wondering what you’re up to and was about to send out the search dogs. Glad to know it’s something fun!

  3. Sandi(Evilknittingtwin) says:

    OMG! You make me laugh……… Oh and by the way, I’ll be the one standing at the door to HELL, letting you in. I know I’m going there! Most likely for some of the same reason you are. Hehe
    No sense in being there all by yourself, with no knitting frineds to have fun with and do a little no good.
    Can’t wait for the pictures of Itchy!
    Happy Knitting!!!!

Leave a Reply

