Life so far

I’ve been the Unemployee of the Month (thanks Claudia) for a week and a half now and I have to say that life is busier than every.  In fact, today is the very first day since I got notice, that I don’t have to be anywhere.

I have/had big plans for my time off….clean the house, do some knitting and reading and baking and cooking and finally plant my vegetable seeds.  I also have to pick up a passport renewal form.  And I figured I’d finally get around to calling my friends and exercising.

In reality I have run a bunch of errands, spent hours in bookstores on the hunt for Interweave Knits Knitting Traditions 2010 (located!), met with some people about a possible job down the road and slept.  A lot.  And I’ve also indulged in the huge time suck that is Zuma’s Revenge..hey, I’m mostly nocturnal now so it’s something to keep me occupied in the wee hours of the morning.

Unsurprisingly the house cleaning hasn’t really started (but I have good intentions) and I haven’t called anyone, although I have done a lot of visiting with my knitting friends, and I’ve actually read a few books.

I am amazed at how full my days are though.  I met up with a bunch of former co-workers yesterday for my “good bye” lunch and of course they all wanted to know if I am keeping busy.  Oh yeah.  It may not seem like I am doing a lot but I am.  I’m reclaiming my soul.  I peruse the job ads a few times a week and figure I may as well enjoy this time off.  I don’t know when it will happen again (hopefully not any time soon) and I intend to make the most of it.

Now, if you will excuse me, I have a sock (Rav link) to cast on and some tomato seeds to plant.  I may also indulge in a cup of tea and round of cat-petting this afternoon before I crack open my latest travelogue book about the Sierra Madre.  Life is good.

One Response to Life so far

  1. JelliDonut says:

    Fantastic! I left a craptastic job almost a year ago and I never, ever go to bed having done all the things I want/need to. Enjoy yourself. You deserve to.

Leave a Reply

