Things I have learned now that I don’t work outside the home

As my Unemployee-ness of the Month goes on, I’ve learned a few things.

1. I really do need 8.5 hours of sleep.  Doesn’t matter if it starts at 11pm or 3 am I wake up exactly 8.5 hours later.

2. I am not the inveterate list maker I thought I was.  When I was working I made lists all the time.  Now, not so much.  I should, since I am totally disorganized, but I don’t.

3. I really can waste the day away on the internet, checking an rechecking the same five websites all day long.

4. Reading is so much more satisfying when I can start and finish the book on the same day.  Or rather, in the same 24 hour time period.

5. While I miss (or will miss) my paycheque, I do NOT miss work at all.  Really.  A small handful of people, yes.  The office, my desk, my desk chair and my day-to-day job…NOT AT ALL.

6. My chronic hip injury has not hurt since I got laid off.  I credit this to no longer sitting for 7.5 hours a day.

7. I don’t knit nearly as much as I thought I would.  Of course I don’t clean up the house either, but that’s a given.  And I continue to be amazed at how time flies during the day.

8. I buy way too many groceries.

9. Getting mail is one of the highlights of my day.

10. Holy crap does the cat sleep a lot.

2 Responses to Things I have learned now that I don’t work outside the home

  1. Spalc says:

    8.5 hours? I think I’m at about the same point.

    The mail is a highlight.

    One cat sleeps, other other needs attention.

  2. Claudia says:

    Kind of makes you want to be re-incarnated as a cat, eh?

Leave a Reply

