The roads not travelled

So it’s a well known fact that I do a lot of driving to get to work.  Too much driving some days.  I’m trying to find the shortest (distance-wise) route to my office and so far am not having much luck.  I lease my car, which made sense when I drove 100 kms a week.  Now I drive that in a day.  So I’ll be buying my next car outright.  And it will probably be a diesel.  Or a standard.  Or maybe even a standard diesel.  I am very concerned with good gas mileage so I’ll have to look into all the options.  And I don’t want to hear that diesel is bad for the environment.  I know it’s not great but I also know it’s better than it used to be.  And let’s face it, it’s also not so environmentally friendly to fill my gas tankup twice a week either.

But enough ranting.  The best part of my drive is that it is mostly through farmland and small towns.  And I see a lot of animals and have watched the fields go from empty dirt to bursting with corn and potatoes and who know what manner of deliciousness.  I also see a lot of roads going who knows where.  And I’m nothing if not nosey curious.  I’d love to see where they lead to.    But I’m on a deadline.  I have to be at work on time and after work the last thing I want to do is meander home. 

One day though, I’m going to take a day off work and, mileage be damned, spend the day slowly driving down the county roads and concessions I see every day but don’t get to drive down.  Who knows what will be waiting for me?  A farm stand?  A herd of deer?  A beautiful garden or an old farm house?  It’s a mystery and it’s one I can’t wait to solve.

One Response to The roads not travelled

  1. Susan says:

    That’s the best kind of driving–just seeing where the road takes you. Sounds really nice!

Leave a Reply

