It’s just, well, you know.

I’ve often used this site to whine about my weight.  It’s my blog and I’ll whine if I want to. 

Now, I know full well that no one made me eat those bags of Doritos and cheesies and all that other salty, greasy crap that is so bad for you but tastes so good.  Also, I know that I am the only one holding me back from dropping that weight.  Which will have to happen sooner rather than later as I suspect my mammoth ballooning swollen ankles will disappear once I drop some poundage.   Neither of these points are in dispute.  I am the architect of my weight gain and will be the architect of any weight loss.

But none of it will happen by Saturday.  Which is when my entire family will be celebrating my grandmother’s 98th birthday (yay Baba!!) at my sister’s house.  Where a new pool has just been installed.  And it’s quite literally hotter than the surface of the sun right now (and will be for the forseeable future I think) so I desperately want to get into the pool.  And my sister is on a big exercise kick and has dropped a ton of weight and looks great.  Awesome. 

Despite the fact that I will be surrounded by my family (none of whom are particularly thin) I am already feeling anxious.  And crabby (which makes me want to eat salt and grease which further compounds the problem).  And wish that women still wore those old style full length bathing suits that covered EVERYTHING.  Ah well, maybe I’ll make DH drive and just get so loaded that I don’t care what I look like.  And start hauling my ass to my local pool.  Swollen ankles aside, it can’t hurt to get my sorry self back into shape.  Even if it’s only to look good while swimming at my sister’s house.  Bring on the wine….it’s gonna be a very long day on Saturday.  I need to start early.

3 Responses to It’s just, well, you know.

  1. Michelle says:

    I can totally sympatize after I managed to let myself put on 15-20 pounds … can’t blame it on winter weight since I had some of it before last winter even started! Throughly enjoyed lots of yummy food and wine but when the clothes did not fit this summer ~ of course it had to super hot and humid so I am forced into summer clothes – I am slowly trying to get back on the treadmill, do a few situps and pick up the weights but I am not giving up enjoying life! So bring your swimsuit next weekend when we have our visit and I will make sure I have some wine! 🙂

  2. ckartist says:

    Oh, my dear girl, how I wish I could wave a wand and make your feelings about your weight go away! I have been there all my adult life since before I had a weight “problem” but obsessed about it anyway. In my youth, I had Marilyn Monroe’s measurements; unfortunately Twiggy had just appeared on the scene. If I’d never gone on that first diet . . . . There are many reasons for the current epidemic of obesity in North America but the low self esteem imposed by the media and “fashion” is not the least of them. I could wish I had come to like myself several decades back when there was less of me to like. I wish that for you now, today!

  3. Susan says:

    Been there. Oh, that’s such a laugh that I used the past tense. I crack me up. I hope you have a great time anyway. Just keep pouring drinks for everybody and by the end of the day, nobody will care what anybody looks like. And isn’t that the way it should be?

Leave a Reply

