Why

is it that even though I start my Christmas knitting in May I’m still way behind with 50 days to go?

is it that I keep doing Christmas knitting for a group of people, many of whom I don’t particularly care for?

is it that I am dead tired at 6:30 pm but get my second wind at 10:30 pm and stay up way too late and thus perpetuate the cycle of exhaustion?

is it that deer WILL NOT stay off the highway?

is it that everything (and I mean EVERYTHING) in the world irritates me right now?  Oh, wait, that may be due to that whole exhaustion thing.  Maybe.  Or maybe I’m just super crusty right now.  Both are perfectly logical answers.

is it that I keep re-living something over and over and over that I can’t change?  It’s my own personal Groundhog Day.  Or version of insanity. 

is it that I can’t remember anything anymore?

is it that I keep having these ugly red freckly spots come up all over me and they refuse to go away? 

is it that I hate all my shoes?

is it that I have so much freaking yarn but not enough of any of any one kind to actually knit a garment?

is it that after 2 years of living in the Money Pit we STILL haven’t unpacked or hung up pictures?

is it that we ALWAYS have to spend Christmas Day with the outlaws?

is it that every year I dread Christmas more and more and wish that I could skip it entirely?

is it that I look like a wizened old crone on 4 hours of sleep yet the Hubs looks fresh as a daisy on the same number of hours?

is it that Canada Post has mysteriously lost my Sock Club shipment and the yarn store is not all that interested in tracking it down yet they want payment for the next installment?

is it that both of my sock clubs this year have sucked rocks?

Honestly.  It’s been that kind of week.  I want a do-over.  Or maybe go to bed tonight and wake up on December 26th.  Both options work for me.

2 Responses to Why

  1. Clare says:

    My sympathies! I heartily reccomend a childrens’ book called “Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day”. I am experiencing, however briefly, the incredible lightness of having the opening of my exhibition behind me and the studio looking remarkably spacious and clean! I half dread the holidays as well but can afford to ignore them and everything else for a few, precious days!

    I’m thinking of trying Yarn Harlot’s “self imposed sock club” method to package up a year’s worth of smaller projects with yarn and patterns and pull them out at random over the next few months to surprize myself and work on the stash. could also make a dent in next Christmas.I kind of do socks on an ongoing compulsive basis anyway so I might change it up with mittens, scarves . . . whatever the yarns want to be.

    Hope life cleans up its act soon!

  2. Susan says:

    That really sucks about your sock club. I hope SOMEBODY finds your yarn soon. As for the rest? Sounds like good old peri-menopause to me. It can certainly hit you in your 30’s. It got me rather late–mid 40’s. Have I ever told you about the time I nearly stabbed my DH with a philips head screwdriver just because he was telling me how to replace a door hinge? Good times!

Leave a Reply

