It’s the luckiest day EVER… (originally posted 8/8/08)

….to have a birthday or get married.  Sadly, my birthday is in April and I got married in October.  Which probably does not bode well for me but what can you do?  Pay your money and take your chances I suppose.  However, today is my mom’s birthday and she’s 65.  Yay Mom!  Happy birthday!!  She also retires in four days.  She’s planning on taking up Tai Chi and Belly Dancing (!).  She is not a knitter but does appreciate hand knits though.  I have a lot more than four days left to work.  I’m not bitter.  Really.

But today is the start of the Bejing Olympics.  Which, to be honest, I don’t much care about.  Oh I like the gymnastics and the swimming and such.  But I don’t do mornings well and with China 12 hours ahead….no freaking way am I getting up at 2 am to see ANYTHING.  I figure I’ll watch the replays on CBC.

What I do care about today is that the Ravelympics started on Ravelry (password required).  My team, Team SmartAssYarnHos has entered and I’m up for two events: mitten medley and baby dressage.  Now now, don’t get excited, the baby stuff is not for me.

Let’s have a recap of today’s exciting opening events.

The first event was the Baby Dressage which got off to a dismal start.

Look for brown/yellow/grey (I know but I’m hoping it will stripe into bumblebee type stripes to match the ADORABLE bee buttons I bought) sock yarn for the Elizabeth Zimmerman Baby Surprise Jacket.  As my knittas have made frequent mention of, I rarely knit for myself.  And I’m not pregnant so this is clearly not a project for me.  DH’s cousin on the other hand, has a fiancee who is.  She’s due in February.  Which gives me lots of time to knit the jacket and send it to Greece.  But it has to be done by the end of the Olympics…in 15 days.  How hard can that be????

Well, I cannot find the yarn.  Much swearing ensues.  I toss the sock yarn bin.  No luck.  And I look for pattern too since I’ve already tossed the yarn cave.  I do find extra helpful BSJ hints but no pattern.  I swear some more which scares the cat.  Leave house in a huff so as not to be late for my chiro appointment.  Am not surprised when chiro (who is also pregnant) comments I’m a little stressed out.

Well, that came close to ending in tears so let’s move onto today’s second event, the Mitten Medley.  Here’s the backstory.  DH has three close female cousins and a sister.  For the past two Christmases I have made them each a handmade gift.  Now they expect it.  Sigh.  Given that I have to make four of whatever I’m giving them, it has to be something that is easy, interesting, come in four different colours, be cheap inexpensive and most importantly because I am a world-class procrastinator, the project must be fast.  Enter the Lucy Mittens made out of this yarn, which although the web site doesn’t show it, came in four really nice colours.  For $2.99 a ball.  That, my friends, is almost free!

And yet another dismal start for me.  CRAP!  Where the hell is the orange yarn?  Oh, there it is.  Double crap!  Why is it still in a skein?  Well, let’s change the project page details and make them blue mitts instead.

Ahhhh, cast on.  Finish the wrist cuff.  Damn!  Notice a slipped stich.  Too far gone to frog…mark with a stich holder for repair later.  Thank Knitting Goddesses that this is boucle yarn…nasty to work with but awesome at hiding mistakes de-emphasizing design elements.  Start shaping for thumb….looking good so far!

As speed is of the essence, for once in my life I did read ahead and even highlighted the sizes I’m making.  I’d say I’m 10% done the first mitt.  I hear mittens are like socks and that SMS (second mitten syndrome) is inevitable.  Which will suck big time since I have four more pairs to go.  Which is why I started them in August.  On my mom’s birthday.  And the start of the Summer Olympics.  And the luckiest day EVER!

Thankfully though, only this pair is for the Ravelympics.  I’ll have to get someone else to kick my ass into gear for the next three pairs.  And hopefully tomorrow will be a better day in the Baby Dressage.  Cross your fingers for me.

Leave a Reply

