Cognitive Dissonance

Wikipedia (God I love that site) defines cognitive dissonance as an uncomfortable feeling caused by holding two contradictory ideas simultaneously. 

Now I love DH with all myheart, which I know you will find hard to believe a) that I have a heart and b) that I do love him due to my constant complaining about him here in Cleverly land.  But anyway.  I do.  That being said, he’s a bit of a doofus.  Which is often used as a term of endearment in The Money Pit.  Picture a golden lab…a big, goofy, happy drooly dog (ok DH doesn’t drool nor is he a dog) and you get the picture.

Anyway, the other day we were down in the basement workshop, which is also where our freezer lives.  I was digging out something for dinner and DH found his caulking gun.  Now, before I go on, you have to know that DH is also in the Canadian Forces Reserves and has been for a really long time.  I know this (oooh I love me a man in uniform) and see him often in his CadPat fatigues and God knows there is enough army crap lying around our house.  But I forget he’s basically a mercenary given his laid-back doofy nature and all.  Besides, it’s no secret that I’m the 37 star General in our relationship.

So why was it such a shock when he picked up the caulking gun and started doing weirdo gun moves that made it look like the caulking gun was actually the real thing?  Two worlds collided and I have to say that it was weird.  Jeez, my doofy lab is actually a trained marksman who knows the business end of a C7 assault rifle.   As DH would say “does not compute”.

Leave a Reply

